JEE Counselling Logo
JEE Counselling

2026

2026 Bulletin Specs

JEE Main 2027 Photo and Signature: Size, Format and Checklist

The exact limits printed in the JEE Main 2026 Information Bulletin, which figures on other websites do not match it, and how to prepare images that will not bounce at upload or at verification.

Status: No 2027 Specification Yet

As of mid-October 2026, NTA has not opened JEE Main 2027 Session 1 registration and has not released the 2027 Information Bulletin, which is where photograph and signature rules are formally listed. The figures below are taken directly from the JEE (Main) 2026 Information Bulletin (Para 3, Step 2 of the Application Procedure, page 4) and NTA's JEE (Main) 2026 FAQs, both published on jeemain.nta.nic.in. They are the best official guide to 2027 because NTA has kept the same image limits in recent cycles, but they are not a 2027 rule.

The safe plan: make clean originals now, resize only after the portal opens, and read the size message on the upload screen. Our step-by-step form guide shows where the upload appears in the flow.

Specifications in the 2026 Information Bulletin

ItemPhotographSignature
FormatJPG / JPEG, clearly legibleJPG / JPEG, clearly legible
File size10 KB to 200 KB10 KB to 100 KB
Colour and backgroundRecent passport-size photograph in colour, against a white backgroundNot specified in the bulletin
Face visibility80% of face visible (without mask), including earsNot applicable
Dimensions in cm or pixelsNot stated in the bulletinNot stated in the bulletin
Live photographCaptured by webcam or mobile via QR code during the form; light-coloured background, proper lighting, 80% face including ears, no maskNot applicable
Correction after submissionNot given in the future, per the bulletinNot given in the future, per the bulletin (the 2026 correction notices were reported to allow a signature edit for some candidates)

Source: JEE (Main) 2026 Information Bulletin, Para 3 Step 2 and Notes 1 to 4 (page 4), jeemain.nta.nic.in. The correction remark on signatures is from media reports of the 2026 correction notices. For 2027, follow the new bulletin and the portal upload prompt.

The same bulletin paragraph lists the other uploads, which use different limits, so do not reuse the photo settings for them: Class 10 or equivalent certificate or marksheet as a PDF of 50 KB to 300 KB; identity proof (only for candidates who verify identity by a method other than Aadhaar or DigiLocker) as JPG/JPEG of 10 KB to 200 KB; and disability or UDID certificate as a PDF of 50 KB to 300 KB. The bulletin also requires you to upload your own photograph, signature and certificates; using anyone else's is treated as unfair means, and NTA may take action even at a later stage.

Figures on Other Sites That Do Not Match the Bulletin

Many resizer tools and coaching pages quote limits that differ from the official bulletin. Checked against the JEE Main 2026 bulletin text, these are the differences:

PointOther sites versus the 2026 bulletin
Photo size limitBulletin: 10 to 200 KB. Pages quoting 10 to 300 KB reflect an older cycle.
Signature size limitBulletin: 10 to 100 KB. Pages quoting 10 to 50 KB or 4 to 30 KB do not match the 2026 bulletin.
DimensionsThe bulletin gives none. Figures such as 3.5 x 4.5 cm and 3.5 x 1.5 cm come from secondary sites.
Photo backgroundUploaded photograph: white background. Live photograph: light-coloured background. Both are in the bulletin.
Photo typeBoth are needed: a live photograph during the form and the uploaded scanned photograph.

Practical reading of this: target a photograph of roughly 50 to 150 KB and a signature of roughly 20 to 80 KB. That sits comfortably inside the 2026 bulletin ranges and leaves room if the 2027 portal message differs slightly. Do not shrink files to 30 KB or less on the strength of a third-party tool; the 2026 bulletin sets a floor of 10 KB and over-compression is what makes signatures illegible. Read the final numbers in the Information Bulletin once published.

JEE Main
JEE Advanced
DASA / NRI

Know which college you can get

Predict IITs, NITs, IIITs & GFTIs · 135+ institutes · JoSAA 2026 data

Predict My College

Live Photo and Identity Link

The 2026 bulletin says the candidate had to upload a live photograph at the time of filling the form. For capture, switch on the camera or connect a webcam to the device you are using; if the device has no webcam, scan the QR code shown on the page with a mobile device or tablet. The bulletin asks for a light-coloured background, proper lighting and 80% face visibility including ears, without a mask. It also says NTA reserves the right to verify candidate details and photographs and advises candidates to update their Aadhaar card with a recent photograph, name, date of birth, gender and address.

NTA's 2026 FAQs add that when the live photograph does not match the Aadhaar photograph, NTA reviews it, and in case of a major discrepancy tells the candidate by e-mail or text message; the form is not automatically cancelled. Separately, media reports (Careers360, Shiksha, PW and others, not an NTA page we could open) said that in January 2026 NTA asked candidates who had registered with ID other than Aadhaar or DigiLocker, and some whose live photo did not match the UIDAI image, to download a photo verification certificate from their login, attach a recent photograph, get it signed by the school or college head and upload it. The deadline was reported as 7 January 2026, later extended to 15 January 2026, with a printed copy to be carried to the exam centre. Whether anything similar happens in 2027 is unknown, but it shows why a clear, current, honest photograph matters.

The identity side of this is explained on our APAAR ID and Aadhaar requirement page. The key point for images: your photograph will probably be compared with another record, so a heavily filtered or very old picture is a risk.

Pre-Upload Checklist

  • Photograph taken within the last few months, facing the camera straight, eyes open, neutral expression.
  • Plain white or very light background with no shadows or patterns behind you.
  • No cap, sunglasses, mask or heavy filters; ears and forehead visible; religious headwear only if it leaves the face clear.
  • Face fills most of the frame: the 2026 bulletin asks for 80% of the face visible including ears, without a mask.
  • Signature written by you on plain white paper with a dark pen, in the style you will repeat on the attendance sheet, not a typed name or stamp.
  • Both files saved as JPG/JPEG, not PNG, PDF, HEIC or a screenshot.
  • Photograph between 10 and 200 KB and signature between 10 and 100 KB (2026 bulletin limits), or whatever the 2027 bulletin and upload screen say.
  • Image sharp when zoomed in, not stretched, not rotated, with no watermark or date stamp.
  • Printed passport-size photograph identical to the uploaded one: the 2026 bulletin required one for pasting on the attendance sheet at the centre.
  • Live photograph setup ready: working webcam or phone with the QR code route, light-coloured background and even lighting.

Common Reasons Images Get Rejected

NTA does not publish a rejection list. These are the usual causes seen in student reports and exam-form guidance, checked against the bulletin limits where possible. The 2026 bulletin also warns that admit cards are not issued to candidates whose applications are incomplete for any reason, including indistinct or doubtful photographs and unsigned applications:

  • File size above or below the permitted range, often after over-compressing.
  • Wrong format, such as a PNG renamed to .jpg or a photo saved from WhatsApp as a different type.
  • Cropped signature with ink touching the edges, or a pale signature that becomes unreadable once compressed.
  • Group photo cropped to one person, or a selfie with a visible distortion from a close lens.
  • Photograph that does not resemble the person at the exam centre.
  • Signature that differs sharply from the one used on the OMR or attendance sheet later.

Because mistakes here are costly and the bulletin says the facility to correct uploaded images will not be given later, read our page on the correction window and the broader list of registration mistakes to avoid.

How to Prepare the Images

Photograph. Stand a metre in front of a plain wall in daylight, and have someone else take the picture at eye level with the rear camera. The bulletin gives no pixel size, so crop to an ordinary passport-photo shape (the commonly quoted 3.5:4.5 ratio, about 7:9, is a sensible choice), centre the face so ears are visible and leave a small margin above the head. Export as JPEG, then check the size in your phone's file details. If it is too large, reduce the pixel dimensions slightly rather than dragging a quality slider to the floor.

Signature. Sign inside a clear rectangle on a plain white sheet, photograph it flat in even light, crop tight with a thin white margin to a wide strip (commonly quoted as about 7:3, but not an NTA figure), and convert to JPEG. Increase contrast a little so the strokes stay dark after compression. Do not pick a signature you cannot repeat; the same style will be asked of you at the exam centre.

Tools. Any ordinary gallery editor or a trusted free online resizer is fine; avoid sites that need your Aadhaar or mobile details. Always re-open the final file to confirm it still looks sharp. If login trouble stops you from retrying uploads, see login and application number help.

Where Each Image Is Used and Fix-It Table

Your images are used at four points, and a weak image causes a different problem at each. In the 2026 flow the form pages ran in this order: contact details, personal details, disability, identity, APAAR ID, exam and centre details, qualification, additional details, emergency contact, live photograph, document upload and final submit. The live photograph and the uploads therefore come near the end, after you have already entered the rest of your data, so have the files ready before you start. Our step-by-step guide walks through that sequence.

StageWhat happens to your imageRisk if poor
Form submissionPhotograph, signature and live photograph are uploaded and stored with your applicationUpload error, or an application NTA treats as incomplete
Identity reviewNTA may verify details and photographs, and reviews live-photo versus Aadhaar mismatchesE-mail or text message asking for more proof
Admit cardThe photograph and signature are printed on the e-Admit CardNo admit card for indistinct or doubtful photographs
Exam centreYour face is checked against the admit card, and you paste a matching photograph on the attendance sheetDelay or refusal at entry if the photo does not resemble you
SymptomLikely causeWhat to do
Portal says file too largePhoto above 200 KB or signature above 100 KB (2026 limits)Reduce pixel dimensions slightly and re-export as JPEG
Portal says file too smallOver-compressed below 10 KBExport at higher quality from the original, not from the compressed copy
Format rejectedPNG, HEIC or PDF renamed with a .jpg extensionOpen in an editor and export as a real JPEG
Live photo will not captureCamera permission blocked, or no webcamAllow the browser camera, or scan the on-page QR code with a phone
Face not acceptedShadows, hat, mask, heavy backlightMove to even daylight, remove cap or mask, show both ears
Wrong image already submittedUpload mistakeThe bulletin says correction of uploaded images is not given later; check the official correction notice and the helpline listed on our helpline page

The 2026 bulletin and FAQs list the NTA helpline as 011-40759000 (FAQs also give 011-69227700) and the e-mail jeemain@nta.ac.in; verify the current numbers in the 2027 bulletin. Our helpline and grievance page explains how to escalate, and the documents required page lists every other file you will need. If you are applying through a paper that has extra steps, such as B.Arch, check the Paper 2 registration page, and for the full dates see registration last date.

Exam-Day Photograph and Identity Rules from the 2026 Bulletin

The images you upload follow you to the centre. The 2026 bulletin (Para 5.4, Important Instructions) says candidates must carry a printout of the admit card with the self-declaration undertaking, one passport-size photograph identical to the one uploaded in the application form for pasting on the attendance sheet, one original valid photo ID, and, where applicable, the PwD certificate, along with a transparent ball-point pen. The accepted photo IDs listed were a valid school identity card, PAN card, voter ID, passport, Aadhaar card with photograph or e-Aadhaar with photograph, Class XII board admit card with photograph, and a bank passbook with photograph.

If the photograph or signature on the e-Admit Card or confirmation page is wrong, the bulletin says to approach the NTA helpline between 10:00 am and 5:00 pm, and to appear at the exam with the already downloaded admit card, after which NTA would make corrections in its record later. That is a record-fix route, not a re-upload, so it does not replace getting the files right in the first place. Our admit card guide covers the download step, and exam dates shows the tentative calendar.

Print two or three extra copies of the exact photograph file at a photo studio rather than choosing a different recent picture, since the bulletin asks for the same photograph. Keep the signature consistent with the one you used in the upload; you will sign the attendance sheet and the undertaking at the centre.

JEE Main 2027: complete guide

Dates, eligibility, pattern, syllabus, result and counselling in one place.

Open guide

JEE Main 2027 Photo and Signature – FAQs

Common questions about JEE Main photograph and signature uploads

1
What are the official JEE Main 2027 photo and signature sizes?
There is no official 2027 specification yet. As of mid-October 2026 NTA has not released the JEE Main 2027 Information Bulletin. The JEE Main 2026 Information Bulletin (the latest official document) set the photograph at 10 to 200 KB and the signature at 10 to 100 KB, both in JPG/JPEG. Use those as your working targets and confirm against the 2027 bulletin and the upload screen.
2
What dimensions were quoted for the photo and signature in 2026?
The 2026 Information Bulletin does not state dimensions in centimetres or pixels for either file. It specifies a recent colour passport-size photograph with 80% of the face (without mask) visible including ears against a white background. Figures such as 3.5 cm by 4.5 cm for the photo and 3.5 cm by 1.5 cm for the signature appear only on secondary websites, so treat them as a rough aspect-ratio guide, not an NTA rule.
3
Why do different websites give different KB limits?
Some pages copy older cycles. The 2026 bulletin text is clear: photograph 10 to 200 KB and signature 10 to 100 KB. Figures such as 10 to 300 KB for the photo or 10 to 50 KB and 4 to 30 KB for the signature do not match the 2026 bulletin and should be ignored for that cycle. The 2027 bulletin and upload screen will decide the 2027 limits.
4
Was a live photograph required in the 2026 cycle?
Yes. The 2026 bulletin says candidates had to upload a live photograph while filling the form, in addition to uploading the scanned photograph and signature. Candidates switch on a camera or webcam; if the device has none, a QR code on the page lets them use a mobile device or tablet. The bulletin asks for a light-coloured background, proper lighting and 80% face visibility including ears, without a mask. Whether 2027 repeats this is unconfirmed.
5
Does my photo need to match my Aadhaar or school records?
NTA's 2026 FAQs say a mismatch between the live photograph and the Aadhaar photograph is reviewed by NTA, and in case of a major discrepancy the candidate is informed by e-mail or text message; it does not automatically cancel the form. The bulletin also advises updating Aadhaar with a recent photograph. Media reports add that some candidates were asked for a photo verification certificate (see below).
6
Can I fix a wrong photo in the correction window?
No. The 2026 bulletin says the facility for correction of the uploaded photograph, signature and certificates will not be given in the future, and media reports of the 2026 correction notices list the photograph among non-editable fields. The signature was reported as editable in some candidate categories. See our correction window page, and get both right at the first upload.
7
Can I sign in capital letters or with a stamp?
Use your normal handwritten signature on plain white paper. The 2026 bulletin only requires a clear, legible JPG/JPEG of 10 to 100 KB and does not mention ink colour or capital letters; those are common advice on coaching sites, not an NTA rule. A typed name or stamp is risky because the signature is compared with the one you make on the attendance sheet at the centre.

JEE College Predictor 2026

IITs · NITs · IIITs · GFTIs · 135+ colleges

Predict

Quick Facts

No official 2027 specs yet
2026 bulletin: JPG / JPEG
2026 photo: 10 to 200 KB
2026 signature: 10 to 100 KB
Bulletin gives no cm or pixel size
Live photo needed in 2026
Uploaded images not correctable later (bulletin)

Disclaimer

NTA had not released the JEE Main 2027 Information Bulletin as of mid-October 2026. The photograph and signature limits here are from the JEE Main 2026 Information Bulletin; the photo verification certificate details are from media reports. Follow the official 2027 bulletin at jeemain.nta.nic.in and the portal prompts.